National Institute of Engineering (NIE)

NIE is one of the oldest engineering institutions of the country, established in 1946 with the efforts of three retired senior engineers S Ramaswamy, D V Narasimha Rao and T Rama Rao in Mysore. 

The National Institute of Engineering (NIE) is a ‘cosmopolitan’ academic community, attracting students from all over India. Presently, about 2,500 students have enrolled for Bachelor of Engineering, Master’s and research programmes.  All these programmes are supported by over 180 faculty and by state-of-art laboratories and workshops. NIE is one of the 16 colleges out of 174 colleges in Karnataka where the courses have been granted autonomy by Visvesvaraya Technological University.

Excellent infrastructure and academic ambience is provided at NIE for the students to excel in their studies. NIE has entered into MoU with international universities like University of Minnesota, USA, McMaster Uni., Canada, Spectrum Institute of Science & Technology, Sri Lanka, to enable faculty/student exchange programmes, and with several companies for closer cooperation. 

NIE is also part of NEN, training students in entrepreneurship. The Entrepreneurship Development Cell of NIE has active support of NIE’s Center for Renewable Energy and Sustainable Technology (CREST) to develop innovative products catering to the needs of rural India. The EDC conduct business skill development programs with funding from Ministry of Small and Medium scale Enterprises. The EDC cell has been selected by Government of India, Department of Science and Technology in 2010 to establish innovation and entrepreneurship development cell. 

City: Mysore

E Cells (1)

Displaying 1 ecell


Events (184)

Displaying 1-12 of 184 events
11 February 2011 - 2:00pm
10 February 2011 - 11:00am
6 February 2011 - 9:00am
10 February 2011 - 11:30am
9 February 2011 - 2:00pm
5 February 2011 - 2:00pm
11 February 2011 - 11:00am
7 February 2011 - 2:00pm
6 February 2011 - 3:30pm
9 February 2011 - 11:00am
5 February 2011 - 7:00am
9 February 2011 - 10:00am